Best CT600 filing software in 2026: WeFile vs TinyTax, TaxPipe, TaxCalc & TaxFiler
There is no single "best" Corporation Tax filing product for every UK company or accountancy practice. This guide compares published prices, VAT treatment, and officially stated features for the main commercial CT600 suppliers, so you can match software to your own filing volume, client base, and whether you need Companies House accounts filed alongside HMRC.
How this comparison was built
Every price, feature and VAT statement below is taken directly from each supplier's own published pricing page, terms, or official GOV.UK listing, checked on 16 September 2026. Where a supplier does not state something publicly (for example, VAT treatment), we say so explicitly rather than guessing.
We do not use star ratings, review scores, or claim independent testing. This page is published by WeFile, one of the suppliers compared, and is written to help buyers understand real published differences — not to present WeFile as universally superior. Where a competitor is a better fit for a specific use case, we say so in the decision section below.
CT600 software comparison — checked 16 September 2026
Prices and features are as published by each supplier. Currency figures are GBP unless stated otherwise.
| Product | Published price | VAT position | Officially stated scope | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| WeFile | Accountant membership: …/year (up to 100 filings). Pay-per-filing: trading company …, dormant company …. | Not itemised here — confirm VAT treatment at checkout. | CT600 (version 3) and Companies House iXBRL accounts submitted together; automatic marginal relief and capital allowances; CT600A and CT600E supplementary pages supported. CT600B–D and CT600F–P are not supported. Charity/CASC and non-Companies-House entity filings are CT600-only. | wefile.co.uk/ct600-software |
| TinyTax | Dormant £20/year; Solo £59/year; Portfolio tiers from £99/year (3 clients) up to £999/year (1,000 clients). | Excludes VAT — TinyTax states VAT is added at checkout. | CT600 filing to HMRC; Companies House iXBRL accounts filing; automatic tax computations and period splitting; prior-year data; support for UK private limited companies filing as micro-entities, plus certain CICs, charities and CASCs subject to limitations. | tinytax.co.uk/pricing |
| TaxPipe | £59 per CT600 return — no subscription. | Not stated on the reviewed pricing page — VAT treatment is unknown. | CT600 generation, tax computation, micro-entity iXBRL accounts, direct HMRC submission, rejection fixes and a guided workflow. Explicitly does not file annual accounts or confirmation statements with Companies House. | taxpipe.co.uk/pricing |
| TaxCalc (CT + Accounts Production) | Corporation Tax (12 clients) £235/year + Accounts Production (12 clients) £164/year = £399/year combined, the lowest published 12-client total. Both products scale separately at higher client-count tiers. | Excludes VAT for business/non-consumer products. | Tax Return Production prepares and files CT600 returns with HMRC integration, validation and iXBRL computations. Accounts Production files statutory accounts directly with Companies House, with automatic iXBRL tagging and imports from Xero, QuickBooks and FreeAgent. The two products are priced and licensed separately. | taxcalc.com/pricing |
| Taxfiler → IRIS Elements | IRIS Elements Tax & Accounts: Startup £12/month (£142/year); Solo £26/month (£279/year); Pro £39/month (£418/year); Team £254/month (£2,739/year). | Not stated on the reviewed migration page — VAT treatment is unknown. | IRIS directs Taxfiler customers to IRIS Elements (Accounts, Corporation Tax, Self-Assessment, MTD VAT, bookkeeping integrations, automated migration). IRIS's own pages give contradictory Taxfiler end-of-life dates (March 2025, end of April 2025, access until July 2025, and "no current end of life date") — Taxfiler is not treated here as a normal current product. | iris.co.uk/l/taxfiler-to-elements |
Official sources
- GOV.UK: Corporation Tax commercial software suppliers
- GOV.UK: Find software for filing company accounts
- TinyTax pricing
- TaxPipe pricing
- TaxCalc pricing
- IRIS: Taxfiler to Elements migration
Inclusion on the GOV.UK supplier lists reflects evidence a supplier has provided that its software can produce one or more elements of a Company Tax Return, or unaudited small company accounts. It is not an endorsement, accreditation, approval or certification by HMRC or Companies House, and neither body recommends one product over another.
HMRC's free filing service closed on 31 March 2026
HMRC's free "File your accounts and Company Tax Return" online service — often referred to as CATO — closed on 31 March 2026. From 1 April 2026, companies must use commercial software to file Company Tax Returns, and should check that their chosen software supports the CT600, the Corporation Tax computation, and company accounts filing.
This is the main reason many companies and accountants are now evaluating commercial CT600 software for the first time. For the authoritative detail, see GOV.UK's official closure guidance .
If you're weighing up whether to self-file at all, our step-by-step guide to filing your CT600 and Companies House accounts without an accountant in 2026 walks through the combined filing steps, iXBRL, deadlines, and how to judge whether self-filing suits your company.
Who should use WeFile?
WeFile is a strong fit for some filers and not the right tool for others. Here's how to decide, fairly.
Choose WeFile if…
- You're an accountant filing CT600s for multiple clients and want one membership covering up to 100 filings in a 12-month period, with client management built in.
- You want the CT600 (version 3) and Companies House iXBRL statutory accounts submitted together from one set of figures, rather than running two separate products.
- Your filing needs include CT600A (loans to participators / s455) or CT600E (charities and CASCs) supplementary pages.
- You'd rather use a guided, modern wizard than legacy desktop tax software.
Fair alternatives to consider
- TaxPipe — if you only need a one-off CT600 without filing accounts to Companies House. It explicitly does not cover the Companies House leg, and its VAT treatment is not published.
- TinyTax — if price-per-filing at very high volumes matters most to you; its entry tiers are lower, but remember all its published prices exclude VAT.
- TaxCalc — if you run an established desktop-based practice and want separately licensed Tax Return Production and Accounts Production modules across a larger client bank; combined 12-client pricing starts at £399/year, excluding VAT.
- IRIS Elements — if you're already a Taxfiler customer being migrated by IRIS. Confirm current pricing and VAT treatment directly, given IRIS's own pages contain contradictory end-of-life dates for Taxfiler.
WeFile accountant membership, in plain terms
…/year covers up to 100 filings within a rolling 12-month period. Hitting the 100th filing expires the membership early; you can re-subscribe at any time by paying again. It includes client management and direct submission to HMRC and, where applicable, Companies House.
Scope: CT600A and CT600E supplementary pages are supported; CT600B–D and CT600F–P are not. Charity/CASC filings and entities without a Companies House number are CT600-only — the Companies House accounts leg is not available for these.